Mobile phone icon
View Articles on Mobile
  • RSS Feed
  • Mail

Manitoba Championship

Manitoba Championship Timeline

Manitoba Ch Timeline_1
The old Manitoba Field Trial Club pioneered prairie chicken trials in Canada and flourished for half a century. The first Manitoba Chicken Championship was held in Carman, Manitoba, about 53 miles southwest of Winnipeg and 165 miles east of its present location in Broomhill. The first Manitoba Chicken Championship was won by pointer male Senator P owned and handled by J. W. Flynn. Seven setters and five pointers competed for the first crown. Thirty-three renewals were held in various location in Manitoba as well as in Gainsborough, Saskatchewan (1922 – 1930) with an interruption of seven years around World War I (1913 – 1918). The last Manitoba Chicken Championship was won in 1941 by Wayside Pat M, pointer dog owned by Roy Weir and handled by Jett Crawford. The location was Melita, Manitoba, 12 miles from Broomhill.

In 2005, the championship was re-established after a 64-year absence as the Manitoba Championship. The first renewal was won by pointer female Ardrigh Justina owned by Dave Breslin and handled by Colvin Davis. The Manitoba Championship, hosted by the Broomhill Field Trial Association, celebrates the 10th anniversary of its renewal in 2014.

Manitoba Championship Timeline

Winners of the Manitoba Chicken Championship
1902: Senator P
1903: Mohawk II
1904: Alford’s John
1905: Pioneer
1906: Manitoba Mike
1907: Sir Royal Spot
1908: Tonopaugh
1909: Tony Mooring
1910: Winnipeg
1911: Winnipeg
1912: Benstone
1919: Mary Montrose
1920: Jersey Prince
1921: Becky Broom Hill
1922: Doughboy
1923: Comanche Rap
1924: Becky Broom Hill
1925: Major Kid
1926: Mack Pritchette
1927: Muscle Shoals’ Jake
1928: Mack Pritchette
1929: Mary Blue
1930: Norias Roy
1931: Yankee Doodle Jack
1932: Ichaway
1933: Tap Stick
1934: Buddy D
1935: Chimes Mississippi Jack
1936: Smokey Ginger
1937: King Kong
1938: Rexson’s Viking
1939: Island Park Boy
1940: Dr. Sam’s Johnnie
1941: Wayside Pat M

Winners of the Manitoba Championship
2005: Ardrigh Justina
2006: Lester’s Absolute
2007: Flatwood Silver
2008: Distant Shadow
2009: Patriote
2010: Patriote
2011: Chinquapin Speck
2012: Phillips Time Line
2013: Three Rivers

MC_Mohawk II
1903 Winner: Mohawk II

MC_Alford’s John
1904 Winner: Alford’s John

MC_Muscle Shoals’ Jake
1927 Winner: Muscle Shoals’ Jake

MC_Smokey Ginger
1936 Winner: Smokey Ginger

MC_Ardrigh Justina
2005 Winner: Ardrigh Justina




Running Dog


Strideaway is an online publication founded in 2008. We are dedicated to promoting the great sport of American pointing dog field trials, in particular American Field sanctioned trials for pointers and setters. Our objective is to present the voices and ideas of experienced trainers, handlers, breeders and other knowledgeable participants and enthusiasts from the past to the present — amateurs and professionals alike. Whether All-Age or Shooting Dog, Horseback or Walking Trials, we place particular emphasis on wild bird field trials and the dogs that compete in them. We present richly illustrated articles and stories, podcast interviews and other types of media on a regular basis with the hope of providing an ever expanding, searchable archive of information relevant to pointing dog field trials.Read article

This website is dedicated to our ever faithful friend, Bill Allen who passed away peacefully and surrounded by his loving family on January 25, 2022 at the age of 96. We will miss him but he left us the greatest of gifts, his wonderful writings in a book we published for the 3rd time in 2021: The Unforgettables and Other True Fables.

Shop Strideaway!

Books, caps, note cards, decals...and more unique items...many only available in the Strideaway store!Shop Strideaway
Profits help promote field trials!